Rights related to posts

All users can modify or delete their own posts.

  • Open the message's menu by clicking on the 3 small dots at the top right. Select "Edit" or "Delete".

If you are the administrator of a sphere and/or a publisher (i.e. a member of the “@@Publisher” group), you have the right to delete any posts in the sphere, even those published by other users (excluding members' private messages, which you do not have access to). The deletion is effective for all sphere members. 

To allow a better hierarchization of content, the sphere administrator and/or publisher can pin ("Pin this message" option) one or several messages: these become the first ones visible in a sphere’s feed for all members.

Note: The act of posting in not considered moderation. This feature was developed to prevent users who have the right to comment on posts from writing a comment without any content simply for the purpose of moving a post up in the feed.

Indeed, when a message is commented on, it moves up in the feed to show the most recent conversations to all users first. Writing “” or "up", for example, (which is a common practice in networks with this type of feed classification) is the same as clicking on "Move this message up", an option that allows users to move a message without polluting the feed.

Reporting a post

All users can report content that they deem inappropriate by clicking on the “Report” option in the main message's menu, or on the report icon located underneath comments.

On Whaller there are 3 types of reporting: spam, compromised or abusive. When reporting a post, users can, if they wish, comment on the report to explain why it is inappropriate.

Once a report has been made, an email notification is automatically sent to all administrators of the sphere (in which the message was reported) and to all organization managers if the sphere in question is attached to an organization. 

The sphere administrator or organization manager can decide whether or not to delete the reported post. 

 

Creation of blacklists (Option available with the Enterprise offer) 

An organization manager has the right to define a list of keywords that are automatically reported throughout the organization (i.e. in the related spheres). 

In the "Settings" tab, under "Sphere options", "Extra options", the organization manager can write several words (separated by a comma) that they can moderate. 

As soon as an organization member publishes one of the predefined words, the organization manager will receive an email notification. They will have the option to delete the post if they deem the content inappropriate. 

Additional automatic moderation option

Whaller offers an additional option (disabled by default) to automatically moderate the predefined words. 

When an organization member posts one of the blacklisted words, the message will not be visible in the sphere. The organization manager will receive an email notification and will have the option to delete the post if they find it to be inappropriate, or to authorize the publication.

The organization member will become part of a list of moderated people. None of their future publications will be visible – as long as they have not been removed from this list. 

Only the organization manager can authorize them to re-publish by clicking on the "Members" tab, selecting the member, then the “Actions” button, and finally, "Remove this person from your blacklist".

Did this answer your question?